Diane Mathis, Ph.D.

Professor of Immunology, Morton Grove-Rasmussen chair of immunohematology, Harvard Medical School

Diane Mathis is currently Professor of Immunology and holder of the Morton Grove-Rasmussen chair of immunohematology at Harvard Medical School, principal faculty member at the Harvard Stem Cell Institute and associate faculty member of the Broad Institute. Her lab focuses on the fields of T cell differentiation, autoimmunity and inflammation. Throughout her career, Diane has trained more than 175 students and postdoctoral fellows.

Previously, Diane was a professor of medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School, and associate research director and head of the section on immunology and immunogenetics at Joslin Diabetes Center through 2008.

Diane currently serves on the advisory boards of Rockefeller University, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Genentech, Pfizer, Amgen and several research institutes worldwide. She was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences in 2003, the German Academy in 2007 and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2012. In 2016, Diane received the FASEB Excellence in Science Award.

Diane holds a Ph.D. from the University of Rochester and performed postdoctoral studies at the Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire des Eucaryotes in Strasbourg, France and at Stanford University Medical Center. She returned to Strasbourg at the end of 1983, establishing a laboratory at the LGME (later the Institut de Genetique et de Biologie Moleculare et Cellulaire) in conjunction with Dr. Christophe Benoist. The lab moved to the Joslin Diabetes Center in Boston in 1999.

Back to all posts